Archive for March 22nd, 2009

Well…there hasn’t been a real in depth post for a while and I felt this was a good time while I have the time.   First off, let me start off by saying that there has been some researching going on over here as I have some new projects that I would really love to venture into but need to learn more about the techniques, the proper language of the craft and what’s appealing to my creative taste.

Here I will cover all areas of my creative endeavors.  First let’s take Knitting I’ve been knitting socks for the SOCK IT TO ME Swap on Ravelry for the past month and there’s 1 pair completed as of last week and I have another pair on the needles.  As it has been stated in previous post it’s hard for me to knit for people I really don’t know and that’s why I keep getting into SWAPs.  I view it as my chance to push myself out of my comfort zone and think outside of what I would do for myself and hopefully at the end of the SWAP there will be growth, new discoveries and hopefully a new friend to keep in touch with.  So here’s a little history of my sock knitting journey.  I started out on DPN’s, then I found Cat Bordhi’s Socks Soar on Two Circulars and that really made sock knitting fun, then I discovered ML(Magic Loop) this was were the fun and action really happened for me.  After that it was learning how to knit 2-at-a-time and I conquered that, then it was Short Row Heels and now that’s in the bag also.   During this winter I discovered cowls and although I’ve only made 1 so far they are the next big thing for me.  They are so fantastic as a quick gift idea and also a wonderful way to make use of the infamous 1 skeins that we fibers lovers get just because. I also want to knit some shrugs as cover-ups for the spring/summer season.  I’m in the process of looking for patterns that are a quick knit that maybe able to get done over the course of a weekend.  I know that’s wishful thinking but it’s the only free time I have.

Now let’s move onto Crochet there’s been nothing going on here at the moment but as always I’ve been looking for inspiration for a a few Spring lace pullovers or shrugs.

In the world of Quilting there’s been some planning for a few applique quilts using my Cricut Expression to make my words and new applications.  This will open up more options for art quilts also.  The biggest obsticle now is time.  So stay tuned.

Next is the one craft I really need to jump back into.  Sewing and if you keep up with my blog that has been pretty non-existing since the summer.  I do however have 2 outfits on the cutting table with all the notions, linings and ideas ready to go.  This has been bugging me because since I started my job there hasn’t been any real time to just sit and sew or to do any crafts to my hearts content.

Last on my list is my newest interest, Scrapbooking this is one that I’ve been wanting to get into for several years now and just jumped into over a month ago.  There’s still so much I have to learn about this craft and have yet to become truly inspired other than being in awe of my Cricut Expression and what it can do.  I would like to learn more about layouts, embellishments and journalling.

Onto the next thing.  I had a knock on the door yesterday and this is what I got from my SWAP partner Annie

My gifter is really thoughtful and gave me a wonderful gift box full of new projects, tape measure, circs, 2 stitch markers and a skein of Pink yarn in fingering wtg.  The box is called Winter Knits Kit- instructions and tools for 25 Cozy cold-weather projects.  I also got a skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Ravenswood.

Well now that we’ve had this time to share, my request is for you to share with me any tips or favorite quick patterns, tools or sites to inspire me to take it to the next level.




  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting