Planning, risk and thoughtfulness

I signed up for two SWAP’s so far this year and it’s one of the things I do becuase I like to meet new people that I may not actually good at picking projects to make for someone else always but for me it’s the challenge of stepping out of my comfort zone.  So although I have been a crafter and blogging for a number of years last year was the first time I actually even considered getting involved in SWAPs.

Why am I talking about this you may ask?  Well there were 2 SWAPs that caught my attention on Ravelry the first is Sock It To Me 3  where you send a package to your partner for three months; with your packages being sock related and by the last package you’re required to make at least one pair of socks for your partner.  I really love this idea as I like sock knitting but for some reason am having a hard time finding the right pattern for my sock yarn I chose.  Here’s what I got in the first installment of the SWAP Annie feed my yarn lust and my desire for a new technique I love it.   The Harmony Guide to Lace and Eyelet knitting just what I had on my Amazon wishlist and from KnitPicks a skein of Essential  Wine kettle dyed yarn and 2 skeins of Andean Silk in Cinnamon.   Thanks so much Annie I love my package.

I also participated in the Celebration of Life SWAP on Ravelry and this is where you have to make items to donate to a Women’s or Single Mother shelter that services babies and children.  My partner was Nikki and she was wonderful.

To move onto the thoughtfulness here’s the package I got from Nikki

My package included a deck of Utah playing cards, a washcloth in earthtones, Cashews, Cheez-Its, a bookmark, sticky pads, colored pens, Herbal Tea variety box and mini pattern book and 2 skeins of Caron Simply Soft Eco in TWIG 0005.  We participated in the Celebration of Life SWAP on Ravlery.

Now onto the planning I’m still working on finding just the right project to make my first lace project.  I’m thinking of a lace scarf to wet the whistle  and then maybe onto the shawl I dream of presenting to my Mother for christmas this year.  More on that in the up coming months.

    Leave a Reply

      • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

