Blogging again and finally………a completed project

It’s been a long time since my last post and unfortunately I still have a sore throat but otherwise doing well.  I’m enjoying my job but my exhaustion after work has really cut into my knitting, sewing and crocheting time.  I really miss being able to make progress as I’m already a slow knitter so I feel that nothing is happening.  How do you get your mojo back when you’re so tired after a 12 hour day?  I use to take my projects to work and work on them during my lunch break but since I’m on my own now and a Dr.’s office is unpredictable I don’t always have a long time for lunch.

I’m happy to report that after a year or so of picking up and putting aside I have finally finished my Green Gable in Coral Lambs Pride.  Here’s the front view.  There were a few challenges I had to overcome as I’m not use to knitting garments for myself.  I had to make a bust adjustment and because I have a bit of a tummy I had to widen the torso area so my GG doesn’t exactly have the same hourglass shaping as the pattern.  I did do a repeat of the lace pattern at the bottom to add some extra detail and length to this sweater.  I also added 6 rows to the sleeves before doing the ribbed section.

https://i0.wp.com/farm4.static.flickr.com/3145/2994417181_458bdf8592.jpg

Knitgirlll's Green Gable knitting '08

Knitgirllls Green Gable Back view

Knitgirlll's Green Gable Back view

I also signed up for Socktoberfest on Ravelry but had problems with my socks and the frustration of this project has all but halted my progress.  I had these on my Addi turbo circs and all was going well until I decided to add a little lace work for interest and just started having problems with them.  I was working a k2tog, YO pattern but it was proving difficult to work this pattern.  I did switch this over to the new needles I got from Yarn pirate as the tips are sharp and my Addi’s have a blunt tip.  This has helped but after 10 rows I realized that one sock was larger than the other so I had to jump in the Frog Pond and now I’m just up to the ball of the foot on each sock and need to transfer the one from the Addi to the Yarn Pirate needles here see where I am

STR Footies that just arent getting anywhere

STR Footies that just aren't getting anywhere

I’ve also acquired some new loot since my last post.  I decided to join Yarn Pirates Booty Club and here’s my first treasure it’s 46 yds of Merino/Bamboo/Nylon fingering wgt. yarn in the most beautiful colorway Smoke Rings.  It has shades of grey, blue, lavender and lilac here see for yourself.  As you can see there were also some extra goodies in my kit.  A pair of Pink aluminum 24″ cirs, a set of Pirate stickers and a pin. Not bad for my first treasure hunt?

Booty Club from Yarn Pirate

Booty Club from Yarn Pirate

I also had earned $20.00 credit at my last purchase of yarn from Eat.Sleep.Knit so here’s some very pretty bulky wgt yarn from J. Knits in colorway Connecticut

Bulky wtg. J. Knits yarn

Bulky wtg. J. Knits yarn

  1. The coral sweater is gorgeous!!! I do so envy you knitters as I’m a sweater girl, but the last thing I need is another hobby! Wear it with pride, girl!

  2. I love your sweater.

    I’m still trying to knit and purl without having large gaps in between. I have been studing DVD on “how to knit and crochet”. I don’t need another hobby since I can’t manage to finish my sewing projects.




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

