I made the Leap….into the Frog Pond

Yesterday I made a giant leap into the frog pond. I don’t know if I was just overlooking a major flaw in my Ruffled Shrug. I was just about to put my sleeves on holders and discovered that now my collar wasn’t going in the right direction and it wasn’t the right size. Look closely at the garter stitch ridge after the buttonhole it’s suppose the be the other way so that the collar can stand and then flow over the shoulders.

I kept debating as to what I could do but the more I tried to compensate for it the worse it got so I just decided that if I was going to do this I had to do it right. So I frogged my sweater that I’ve been working on for over 3 weeks and cast on again making a few changes so that the size would come out correctly. On a brighter note I did find the button for the shrug at JoAnn’s

I realize that as a crafter we strive for perfection in our work so as to be able to showcase our creative talents and therefore we may wrestle with the decision that I had to make. There are some times when you can fix a mistake and still come out with a great project in the end.

My question to you, how do you handle your crafting mistakes? Are you a perfectionist? Do you see you flaw as an artistic marker showing that no one but God is perfect? (asking this as I’ve heard this many times) Or do you feel that those who aren’t crafters will never know that you made a mistake and wear or display your finished crafts with pride?

Be Blessed, be productive, be truthful, be at peace and be CREATIVE.

  1. I’m so sorry that real life got in the way of your Finished Object Friday–I sooo admire you this. “Mistakes” fall into 2 categories for me 1) a design feature of my own. or 2) it’s not what I intended and irregardless of what anyone else can see/tell it’s all I can see. I Love your buttons BTW! And Happy Blogversary.




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

