FOF~ Finished Object Friday…….is back

So here we are? It’s another Friday and I want to share a bit of what’s been going on in my world. First I would like to say that I made this little dress for my niece that turned 5 on April 9th.

I used cotton print fabric with pink lace trim on the top bodice and on the hem of the dress. She absolutely loved it. My next FO is my first pair of Fetchings made using KnitPicks Merino Style yarn in Dusk. They will be shipped out on Tuesday to my SWAP partner on Ravelry group College Knitters.

I’m currently working on 5 projects. My knitting projects include socks for my oldest DD, my Ruffled Shrug from Knitsimple Magazine Holiday 2007 issue.

In the magazine they used Verikeri by Muench Yarns I love the colorway. My other project is my Green Gable Sweater that has been on the needles for close to a year. I plan to finish it by the summer. I have come to understand the love of starting and finishing projects in a more timely fashion.

Just want to take some time and discuss my feelings for what Ravelry has done for my crafting life. Not sure about you, but I look forward to my Ravelry time everyday. It has been the catalyst for me becoming more accountable to completing projects and stepping out the box and participating in SWAP’s and KAL’s. When you’re a self-taught crafter there is always a sense of inadequacy when reviewing your work. Although I have been knitting, crocheting, quilting and sewing for some time now, you’re always leary of your work as it is very personal and a true extension of yourself. Since being on Ravelry I’ve done several things that have changed me. One, joined over 70 groups and actively try to maintain activity in all of them and that includes staying in contact with all of the people listed on my friends list. How can you call them friends if you never take the time out to say hi? Two, I participated in 2 SWAP’s so far in the past 6 years. Three, I became accountable for my crafts and my crafting area(s) by joining several groups on Ravelry that address these issues. So far the one that has been most craft changing for me has been the Year Long Gift A-Long. I want to thank BrownBerry for starting the Year Long Gift A-Long group on Ravelry.

I hope that you will take the time not only to get the most out of Ravelry but give back to those who so freely give and participate, donate and share your knowledge with someone not at your creative level. The best gifts are those that are a true extension of yourself.

Until next Friday…..Be blessed, be positive, be truthful, be at peace and be CREATIVE.

  1. I love my Fetching mitts. yours ar e alovely shade of blue ;0)




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

