All about Progress…….what else is there

I feel bad that I wasn’t able to post on my FOF but all I have are WIP’s on the sewing, quilting, crocheting, and knitting front. But I will include photos. First, I’ll talk about my sewing. I did cut out my second top made from McCalls 5401 and I also have my Burda Easy 7793 Shell cut and pieced just need to make the shell that goes underneath. So I’m really making some headway in my sewing endeavors. My youngest daughter and true fashionista in the house designed a skirt a month or so ago, bought her fabric and asked me to make it for her well last week we started it and here’s a few pics:

                                 

this is the front of the skirt                    this is the back w/markings for the darts and zipper

My next project that I thought would have to take a high dive into the Frog Pond is my Flair sweater that I’m knitting for the Ebony Elite Ravelry Group. The problem that I run into at times is second guessing myself when reading some patterns as I’m unsure still of certain techniques. So far I ran into the thing of casting on the additional stitches with the backward loop cast on as it is a loose cast on that caused me some panic until I thought about won’t be seen once the neckline is applied. The second area where I couldn’t get my mind to comprehend what I was reading was the making of the first button hole. I just couldn’t figure out the whole process while maintaining the seed st. pattern indicated on the pattern. Well with the help of googling and asking questions on Ravelry I finally got is figured out. Here’s my progress on my flair and thank you CrimsonPurl our EESistah Moderator for extending this KAL. I’m using Serendipity Tweed in Cherry Blossom from Brown Sheep Company

My next items are Library Enhancements for my Magic Loop Knitting I’m really getting into this method for sock knitting and glad that I’m adventurous in trying new techniques. First I purchased Antje Gillingham’s Knitting Circles around Socks

I found two patterns in this book that caught my attention right away and that’s Fixation and Lace the lime green ones on the cover and Diamonds and Lace (not pictured) both seem pretty straight forward at first glance of the patterns Her book focuses on using 2 cirs at a time which is fairly quick knitting for those of you are coming from the 4 DPN’s. I also purchased Melissa Morgan-Oakes’ 2-at-a-time Socks I’m not so drawn to the patterns as I am drawn to the technique that she gives. With that being said, I do like Belle Epoque and Spice(like the colorwork) First she has all patterns sized and coded in Women’s med., Womens’ Lg/Mens Sm, and Men’s Med.

Now although I like both of these books for they offer a wealth of knowledge they leave out two items that would complete the whole spectrum of sock knitting and one would be to include toe-up and secondly short row heels. No this is just my take on what I’m would like to see in a book of this nature that would make me feel that every option to socks was included.

My Next venture is Fetching……..yes, I’m the last knitter who hasn’t just started knitting to make a pair. I will be using Knit Picks Merino Style in Dusk these are for a SWAP partner on Ravelry.


Well it’s time that I run so that there will be something to show on Friday. Be blessed, be positive, be truthful, be joyful, be at peace, and be CREATIVE.

  1. I’m sure the skirt will be perfect, and the sweater sure looks like a great start. It’s so fun to watch the progress of a top-down raglan. And my Denises make the whole trying on process so much easier since I bought the 40″ cord for them!

  2. I noticed all of the pictures you have on here are of black women modeling the garments. I am white. I cannot identify with your totally black pictures. If you want to attract all races, please be courteous and include at least one other race when putting pictures on the site. Thank-You.




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

