Progress and Sock Yarn

There has been progress on the supposedly 2 hour skirt from Simplicity.  Don’t get me wrong I’m sure for a more experienced sewer it would take 2 hrs. or less but for me a girl who is use to sewing for my daughters it’s a jump working with my womanly figure and trying to instruct someone else how to fit you adds to the challenge.  So far the following changes have been made it was an eight panel skirt which has now been cut down to 6 with an invisible zipper to be placed on the side of the the skirt I think the pattern calls for this to be an elastic waist skirt but we’ll see after I baste the front and back together.  I love the color and the drape of the fabric so I’m still excited about the process and already know once I have this completed there will be more. 

Sock Yarn

        What you have here is my Christmas loot to myself from BMFA in the following: 2 sks. STR Silkie in Walking on the Wild Tide, 1 sk. STR Silkie in Sun Stone, 1 sk. Mediumwtg in Thistle and 1 sk. mediumwtg in Jade.  I realized that I hadn’t used my coupon that was included in the STR Club ’07 and no true yarnnie would let a perfectly good coupon for 10% off go to waste. 

Well my new quarter begins tomorrow and after this I have 2 more quarters and then my externship and I’ll finally be out of school.  I’m very proud of myself for finally taking the opportunity to return and get a degree.  I was chatting with one of my long-time friends who just went back to school last year and we were discussing the major changes in our lives now that we’re 40 yrs. old.  Being from Ohio,  which for many years has been a booming manufacturing haven,  businesses are quickly leaving and thousands of us over the past 4 years have lost our jobs.  We began to remember how easy it use to be to get a good job just based on work experience along.  Now we both noticed, as I’m sure some of you may too, that you have to have a degree or trade certificate just to get a second look if you expect to come up on a job that pays over $10.oo per hour.  I’m not complaining, as I have been very blessed to accomplish a lot of things in the past year.  There are just times that you stop and reflect back and that to me brings opportunity for being grateful for where you are and not where you could be without hope. 

  1. Good for you for going back to school. I gander I will be quite older myself, before I feel like returning back myself. ? for ya, do you baste by hand or by machine?




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

