2 hour Skirt turning into more than that

I’m currently working on my skirt Simplicity Pattern 4881 View F. I took my measurements and then looked at the measurements on the back of the envelope and knew that I had to call in reinforcements. I’m new at this and I didn’t want to waste my fabric on costly mistakes. So my Mother came to my rescue and helped me make the adjustments and properly layout and prepare my fabric.

Me and Momma

After we made the measurements and traced them onto the pattern paper we measured again and then added to the pattern paper to make a permanent pattern for future use.

I remembered a recent show of Sewing with Nancy where she talked about labeling your pattern pieces so that you will not have any problems when it’s time to piece them together so I did that too.

labeled skirt

This is the drape of the fabric that I think looks really good and makes me glad that this fabric was chosen, which is lightweight wool blend in grey. I will be adding black piping I think it’s what I see in my head and hope it comes out nicely.

drape of fabric

So far after getting that all done, my outlook on sewing is that a good job isn’t a rush job. It pays to take your time and get the correct measurements and make sure you give yourself room for adjustments. If you cut you pattern without ease you set yourself up for potetial problems later. At least for a beginner like myself that was the case. Again I’d like to thank my Mother for coming to my rescue and I can’t wait to model my new skirt.

  1. Woohoo, looks great. I like your cutting setup. I need something like that so I won’t be breaking my back. I’ve never known sewing to take 2 hrs, which is why my last 2hr to do project, hasn’t even gotten cut yet. Lol.

    necia

  2. my mom also helped me what a couple garments last summer, its always a good idea to get a second opinion on anything you are not sure off when it comes to sewing,, i can’t wait to see what happens next!




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

