Have a Few Issuses to share

Let’s get the venting out of the way first.  I was asked to knit a sweater for the Dean at my community college and she asked if I would knit it for $5.00 below the catalog price.  She brought in the catalog and it’s listed for $39.00.  I’ve never knitted anything for commission before but I already feel de-valued.  This sweater is knitting in Bolce’ yarn and comes off the shoulders with a tapered waist.  For you experienced knitters who’ve sold your goods isn’t that price an insult to your ability and even more to your time?  Please reply. 

 Now on to the fun stuff.  I’m working on my second pair of socks.  I’m trying some Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease in Chestnut Heather in Cat Bordhi’s Columbine Peak pattern.   I should have enough done in a day or so to post my progress.  I’m also working on Color Shift a scarf from Scarves-a Knitters Dozen.  Things are going well on the knitting front and I’m still visiting all the blogs from the Socktoberfest sign up and there are some very remarkable knitters out here creating wonderful gifts for our loved ones.

  1. That’s definately not enough!
    Did she buy the yarn too? Because you won’t be able to get the yarn for under $40! There are two (or more) ways to go about charging for knitting, and I would have her buy the yarn either way.
    1. she pays you per hour (at least $10, but closer to $20) as a skilled worker
    2. She pays a certain amount per yard that you knit, usually it related to the price of the yarn (or you can just double the price of yarn for your work)

    Does this help? Hope so!




Leave a Reply

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Swaps & KALS

    Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Ultimate Blog Party Photobucket Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

